Majic ATL Featured Video

   President Obama has approved a “Disaster Declaration” for five Georgia counties. The counties that have been approved are Caroll, Cherokee, Cobb, Paulding, and Douglas counties. Governor Perdue declared a state of emergency in 17 counties on Monday. However many of his requests for federal assistance are pending. Fema has said that homeowners and business owners who have suffered losses in the designated counties can begin to apply for assistance today by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA. For those of you who don’t live in the designated counties here are few programs that are offering help to flood victims.

Housing and Food Assistance:

-Traveler’s Aid Atlanta – 404-817-7070

-Salvation Army – 800-SAL-ARMY (725-2769)

-Hosea Feed the Hungry – 404-755-3353

-City of Refuge – 404-874-2241

-Atlanta Housing Authority – 888-242-4968

Shelters Sponsored by Red Cross

Decatur/Dekalb County

Clairmont Hills Presbyterian Church – 1994 Clairmont Rd.

Hiram/Paulding County

Hiram High School – 1702 Balentine Dr.

Lawrencville/Gwinnett County

First United Methodist Church – 395 W. Crogan St.

Marietta/Cobb County

Cobb Civic Center – 548 South Marietta Parkway

Woodstock/Cherokee County

Cherokee Recreation and Parks Agency – South Anex

Summerville/Chatooga County

Pentecostal Worship Center – 116 Lake Wanda Rieta Rd.

Pet and Animal Assistance

-Noah’s Ark Pet Shelter – 770-957-0888

-Atlanta Humane Society – 404875-5331

-PAWS Dekalb – 770-593-1155

Georgia Insurance and Fire Comissioner John Oxendine’s Office

-Consumer Services Division – 404-656-2070 or 1-800-656-2298

Emergency Assistance


Atlanta Emergency Management Agency – 404-730-5600

Lowes in Douglasville will be giving away free starter clean up kits September 26th, from 10am to 2am- While supplies last.