Listen Live
Majic ATL Featured Video

The Electric Lady lives up to her name in her latest video “Primetime,” featuring Miguel. Janelle Monae and the R&B crooner play lovers in the video for the sexy song, which has been penned one of the best tracks on her sophomore album.

“‘PrimeTime’ is a love story based on the early adventures of Cindi Mayweather (Janelle Monáe) and her first love Joey Vice (Miguel),” Janelle said of the Alan Ferguson-directed video. “The Emotion Picture gives a glimpse at Cindi’s humble beginnings as a ‘cyber-server’ at the Electric Sheep nightclub, a syn bar serving high-class ‘show droids’ to the rich and lonely in a dangerous section of Metropolis known as Slop City.”

MUST READ: COVERGIRL: Janelle Monae Is Freakishly Abstract In BUST Magazine

MUST READ: Miguel Joins The Cast Of ‘The Voice’

She added, “Incidentally, the innovative cybersoul music played at the club directly impacted Cindi, and she began singing and performing her own innovative compositions a short time after quitting this assignment. In addition, Cindi became determined to change the public perception of what an electric lady could be, dream and aspire to after working in the dismal conditions at the club.”

Watch the stunning visuals, then check out Janelle and Miguel’s upcoming tour dates below!


13 Philadelphia, PA Electric Factory

14 Washington, DC Lincoln Theatre

16 Boston, MA House of Blues

18 New York, NY Apollo Theater

22 Minneapolis, MN Skyway Theater

29 Portland, OR Roseland Theater

30 Seattle, WA Showbox SoDo


1 San Francisco, CA Warfield Theatre

2 Los Angeles, CA Club Nokia @ L.A. Live

5 Anaheim, CA House of Blues

6 San Diego, CA House of Blues

7 Phoenix, AZ The Crescent Ballroom

9 Dallas, TX House of Blues

13 Houston, TX House of Blues

15 Kansas City, MO Uptown Theater

17 Nashville, TN Ryman Auditorium

19 Raleigh, NC The Ritz

20 Charlotte, NC The Fillmore Charlotte

22 Orlando, FL Hard Rock Live

23 Miami Beach, FL Fillmore Miami Beach @ The Jackie Gleason Theatre

26 Atlanta, GA The Tabernacle

MUSIC ROUNDUP: Janelle Monae Drops New Video Feat. Miguel, Chris Brown Teams Up With Sevyn Streeter & More!  was originally published on

1 2 3 4Next page »